The Department of Nursing Services is one of the departments in Federal Medical Centre, Bida.  It is a department under core-clinical whose services is crucial and highly important in the health industry known to be performing a unique and holistic care needed to restore health, promote health and prevent illness.

The department of Nursing Services Federal Medical Centre, Bida is positioned to identify herself with available human and material resources required to meet up with its responsibilities.  This is achieved, through an effective and efficient collaboration with other departments to ensure that sick individuals get the best care.


Nursing department is headed by a Deputy Director Nursing Services (DDNS), and is currently occupied by Nurse Isah Azumi


The department currently has Three Hundred and Twenty-nine (329) nurses across Bida, Lambata and Zungeru outposts and Three Hundred and Thirty-nine (339) health assistants.

The nurses are distributed across the following cadres.

DNS           –        NIL

DDNS        –        01

ADNS         –        06

CNO           –        58

ACNO        –        44

PNO           –        72

SNO           –        46

NO I           –        42

NO II          –        60


Our nurses are specialized in various aspect of nursing discipline, which includes:

  • Paediatric nursing
  • Ophthalmic nursing
  • Peri-operative nursing
  • Accident and Emergency nursing
  • Anaesthesia nursing
  • Mental Health nursing
  • Ear, Nose and Throat nursing
  • Midwives
  • Nephrology (Dialysis) nursing
  • Intensive Care nursing
  • Orthopaedic nursing


The department of Nursing Services has a Continuous Education Unit that organize in service training within and outside the Hospital to update her staff to meet up with current trends in nursing practice.

Quite a number of nurses are undergoing studies in various institutions of learning for their degree programs and other specialties.


We train interns and students nurses from various institutions of learning in accordance with government and regulatory body policy.


The various wards, units and clinics across the hospital are:

  • Accident and Emergency Unit.
  • Ward I (Female Medical /Surgical Ward)
  • Ward II (Male Medical Ward)
  • Ward III (Male Surgical Ward)
  • EPU (Emergency Paediatric Ward)
  • Paediatric Ward
  • SCBU (Special Care Baby Unit)
  • Psychiatric Ward (Mental Health Ward)
  • Gynae Emergency Ward
  • Ante-natal Ward
  • Post-natal Ward
  • Labour Ward
  • Gynae Ward
  • Family Planning Unit
  • Ante-natal Clinic
  • ICU (Intensive Care Unit)
  • Dialysis (Nephrology Ward)
  • GOPC (General Outpatient Clinic)
  • Multi Clinic
  • Ophthalmic Clinic
  • ENT Clinic
  • NHIS Clinic
  • Compound Office
  • ART Clinic
  • Continuous Education Unit
  • The Theatre
  • DOT (Directly Observed Therapy) Unit

The department of Nursing Services appreciate and enjoy the co-operation and support of the Management as well as other departments toward fulfilling its mandate.